Independent Australian Storage & Infrastructure Authority

Home › Tools › NAS Power Cost Calculator

NAS Power Cost Calculator

This calculator works out what a NAS costs to run a day, a month and a year. Enter its average watts and hours on, or pick your NAS and use the maker's own two published power states (busy, and drives asleep) with the hours its drives sleep. Add network gear, solar at your feed-in tariff and a grid emissions estimate, with electricity rates for Australia by state, the US, the UK, Canada, New Zealand and Europe, or the rate from your bill.

Energy is watts times hours: a 30 W NAS on all day uses 0.72 kWh a day, 262.8 kWh a year. NTK counts a year as 8,760 hours (365 days) on every power tool. A sleeping NAS still draws power, so drive sleep uses the maker's low power figure, never 0 W.

1. Your NAS

From a plug-in power meter, or the maker's figure.
20%
Needed when the drives sleep. Picking your NAS fills it in.
24 hrs

2. Your electricity rate

Enter the rate from your bill; on a time of use plan, use your average (blended) rate.

3. Optional: network gear and solar

Running cost estimate

Enter your setup above to see the running cost.

Weighing a NAS against cloud storage? Use the Cloud vs NAS Calculator.

How We Calculate

Energy. Each device is a list of power states, each with its watts and its hours a day. Energy a day = the sum of watts x hours, divided by 1,000 (kWh). A year is 8,760 hours (365 days) and a month is a twelfth of a year. Hours not in any state count as switched off.

Your NAS. Simple mode uses one average figure for the hours it is on. Advanced mode splits the awake hours into idle and load, and counts the hours the drives sleep at the low power figure. Picking a NAS fills in the maker's own two states: its busy figure (Synology Access, QNAP Operating Mode, Typical, and the like) and its drives asleep figure (HDD Hibernation, Disk Standby Mode). With no drive sleep the NAS is counted at its busy figure all day; Synology says its figures are not meant to be minimum or maximum power consumption figures (Synology, checked 2026-10-14), so a NAS that is idle most of the day will usually use less. A figure you measured at the wall is better than either.

Network gear is its own device, on 24 hours a day unless you change it.

Cost = annual kWh x your rate. With solar, the solar share of the energy is costed at your feed-in tariff, the export income you give up: effective rate = import rate x (1 minus the solar share) + feed-in tariff x the solar share. A 0 c feed-in tariff and a 0% share are used as entered.

Emissions = annual kWh x the grid average factor for your region, from the publication named below. Rooftop solar and GreenPower are not included; a custom rate or a region without a verified factor shows no emissions figure.

NAS power figures (maker's own states and test conditions)

NASBusyDrives asleepMaker's conditionsSource
Synology DS225+16.98 W
Access
6.08 W
HDD Hibernation
Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre).Synology, checked 2026-10-07
Synology DS425+28.25 W
Access
6.1 W
HDD Hibernation
Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre).Synology, checked 2026-10-07
Synology DS925+37.91 W
Access
12.33 W
HDD Hibernation
Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre).Synology, checked 2026-10-07
Synology DS1823xs+87.93 W
Access
28.37 W
HDD Hibernation
Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre).Synology, checked 2026-10-07
Synology DS223j16.31 W
Access
4.0 W
HDD Hibernation
Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre).Synology, checked 2026-10-07
QNAP TS-46440.536 W
Operating Mode, Typical
21.618 W
Disk Standby Mode
QNAP: 'Tested with drives fully populated.' (drive model and workload not stated on the page).QNAP, checked 2026-10-07
QNAP TS-26429.086 W
Operating Mode, Typical
18.288 W
Disk Standby Mode
QNAP: 'Tested with drives fully populated.' (drive model and workload not stated on the page).QNAP, checked 2026-10-07
QNAP TS-43322.54 W
Operating Mode, Typical
8.45 W
Disk Standby Mode
QNAP: 'Tested with drives fully populated.' (drive model and workload not stated on the page).QNAP, checked 2026-10-07
QNAP TVS-H87496.247 W
Operating Mode, Typical
72.331 W
Disk Standby Mode
QNAP: 'Tested fully populated with WD10EFRX hard drives.' (workload not stated on the page).QNAP, checked 2026-10-07
UGREEN DXP280016.38 W
drive access
5.24 W
drive hibernation
UGREEN: conditions not stated on the product page (drive count, drive model and workload unknown).UGREEN, checked 2026-10-07
UGREEN DH4300 Plus22.89 W
drive access
7.23 W
drive hibernation
UGREEN: conditions not stated on the product page (drive count, drive model and workload unknown).UGREEN, checked 2026-10-07
TerraMaster F4-424 Pro33.0 W
read/write state
13.0 W
hibernation
TerraMaster: fully loaded with Seagate 4TB ST4000VN008 drives, read/write state and hibernation.TerraMaster, checked 2026-10-07
ASUSTOR AS5402T22.9 W
Operation
12.7 W
Disk Hibernation
ASUSTOR: conditions not stated on the spec page.ASUSTOR, checked 2026-10-07

Electricity rates used

RegionRate (c/kWh)What it isDate
NSW33.96 (AUD)Australian Energy Regulator: default market offer (DMO), price cap on standing offers. AER DMO 8 Final Determination 26 May 2026, Section 9(1), avg of 3 NSW zonesSeptember 2026
VIC28.2 (AUD)Essential Services Commission: Victorian Default Offer (VDO). ESC Victorian Default Offer 2026-27 domestic flat tariff, avg of 5 distribution zonesSeptember 2026
QLD27.97 (AUD)Australian Energy Regulator: default market offer (DMO), South East Queensland only. AER DMO 8 Final Determination 26 May 2026, Section 9(1), Energex flat rate (SE Queensland)September 2026
SA41.91 (AUD)Australian Energy Regulator: default market offer (DMO), price cap on standing offers. AER DMO 8 Final Determination 26 May 2026, Section 9(1) SA Power Networks flat rateSeptember 2026
WA33.26 (AUD)WA State Government (Energy Policy WA): regulated tariff (Synergy, set in the State Budget). Synergy Home Plan (A1) from 1 Jul 2026 (WA Government-set tariff)September 2026
TAS24.75 (AUD)Office of the Tasmanian Economic Regulator: regulated standing offer (Aurora Energy, maximum price). Aurora Energy Tariff 32 Residential Single Rate from 1 Jul 2026 (OTTER-approved standing offer)September 2026
ACT36.95 (AUD)Independent Competition and Regulatory Commission: regulated standing offer (ActewAGL Retail). ActewAGL ACT Standard plan from 1 Jul 2026 (ICRC standing offer), Home all usageSeptember 2026
NT31.68 (AUD)NT Government Electricity Pricing Order (enforced by the Utilities Commission): regulated retail price (Electricity Pricing Order). Jacana Energy regulated residential tariff from 1 Jul 2026September 2026
Alberta17 (CAD)Alberta Utilities Commission (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
British Columbia12 (CAD)BC Hydro (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
Canada Average14 (CAD)Natural Resources Canada (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
Ontario14 (CAD)Ontario Energy Board (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
Quebec7 (CAD)Hydro-Quebec (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
Europe Average30 (EUR)Eurostat (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
Germany35 (EUR)Eurostat (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
France25 (EUR)Eurostat (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
Netherlands32 (EUR)Eurostat (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
New Zealand31 (NZD)Electricity Authority NZ (indicative)April 2026 (due for review)
United Kingdom26.32 (GBP)Ofgem (UK energy regulator)October 2026
California33.61 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)October 2026
US Midwest17.27 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)September 2026
US Average18.31 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)October 2026
US Northeast26.71 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)September 2026
US Southeast15.14 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)September 2026
Texas15.88 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)October 2026
US West14.98 (USD)US Energy Information Administration (EIA)September 2026

Grid emissions factors

Regionkg CO2-e per kWhPublicationChecked
AU-NSW0.6DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average))2026-10-07
AU-VIC0.74DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average))2026-10-07
AU-QLD0.65DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average))2026-10-07
AU-SA0.21DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average))2026-10-07
AU-WA0.45DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average)). WA row = South West Interconnected System (Perth and the south west).2026-10-07
AU-TAS0.21DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average))2026-10-07
AU-ACT0.6DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average)). ACT uses the NSW and ACT grid row (location based); the ACT's market based Jurisdictional Residual Power Percentage is a different method, not used.2026-10-07
AU-NT0.55DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026 (scope 2, location based (grid average)). NT row = Darwin Katherine Interconnected System.2026-10-07
US-NAT0.3497US EPA eGRID (2023 data) (total output emission rate, CO2e (grid average))2026-10-07
UK0.13096UK DESNZ greenhouse gas conversion factors 2026 (electricity generated incl. imports (scope 2 equivalent))2026-10-07

Assumptions NTK made

Method last reviewed: 2026-10-14. Power figures and emissions factors last checked at source: 2026-10-07. Australian rates dated from: 2026-09-25.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I find my NAS power consumption?
Look up the power figures on the maker's specification page. Most NAS makers publish two states: a busy figure and a figure with the drives asleep, such as Synology's Access and HDD Hibernation or QNAP's Operating Mode, Typical and Disk Standby Mode. Each maker measures under its own conditions, and Synology measures its busy figure with every bay filled during continuous file transfers and says its figures are not meant to be minimum or maximum power consumption figures, so a NAS that sits idle most of the day will usually use less. For your own NAS the most accurate figure is a plug-in power meter at the wall.
How much does a NAS cost to run per year?
It depends on the model, how long its drives sleep and your rate. In round numbers (not a real model): a NAS that draws 20 W all day uses about 175 kWh a year; with its drives asleep 8 hours a day at 6 W it uses about 134 kWh. Multiply the kWh by your rate in c/kWh to price it. For a real model, Synology publishes 28.25 W (Access) for the DS425+: counted at that figure all day it uses 247.5 kWh a year, or 182.8 kWh with its drives asleep 8 hours a day at its 6.1 W HDD Hibernation figure. Pick your NAS in the calculator and enter your rate to see its cost.
Does drive sleep make a big difference?
It depends on how far the NAS's power falls with its drives asleep, which the maker publishes. For the DS425+ (28.25 W Access, 6.1 W HDD Hibernation), 8 hours of drive sleep a day saves (28.25 minus 6.1) x 8 hours = 64.7 kWh a year, 26.1% of the 24 hour figure. A NAS whose low figure is closer to its busy one saves less: QNAP publishes 40.536 W and 21.618 W for the TS-464, so 8 hours saves 55.2 kWh, 15.6%. The calculator never counts a sleeping NAS as 0 W.
Should I include my network switch?
Include it if the switch is there for the NAS. The calculator counts network gear as its own device, on 24 hours a day unless you change it, because a switch does not sleep when the NAS drives do. Use the watts on the switch's label or data sheet, or measure it.
Are the electricity rates accurate?
Each Australian default is a regulated or reference rate, labelled by who sets it: Australian Energy Regulator, default market offer (DMO), price cap on standing offers (NSW, SA); Australian Energy Regulator, default market offer (DMO), South East Queensland only (QLD); Essential Services Commission, Victorian Default Offer (VDO) (VIC); WA State Government (Energy Policy WA), regulated tariff (Synergy, set in the State Budget) (WA); Office of the Tasmanian Economic Regulator, regulated standing offer (Aurora Energy, maximum price) (TAS); Independent Competition and Regulatory Commission, regulated standing offer (ActewAGL Retail) (ACT); NT Government Electricity Pricing Order (enforced by the Utilities Commission), regulated retail price (Electricity Pricing Order) (NT). Each rate is dated on the page. Your retailer's rate can be higher or lower, so enter the rate from your bill; on a time of use plan, use your average (blended) rate.
How does solar change the cost?
A kWh of solar your NAS uses is a kWh you did not export, so it saves your import rate minus your feed in tariff. The calculator costs it that way: effective rate = import rate x (1 minus the solar share) + feed in tariff x the solar share. A 0 c feed in tariff makes solar kWh free, and a 0% share changes nothing. The share applies to everything the calculator counts, the NAS and any network gear you include. It depends on your system and when they run, so enter your own.
How are the emissions worked out?
Annual kWh times the grid average emissions factor for your region. Australian states use the DCCEEW National Greenhouse Accounts Factors 2026, scope 2, location based (grid average). Factors in kg CO2-e per kWh: NSW 0.6, VIC 0.74, QLD 0.65, SA 0.21, WA 0.45, TAS 0.21, NT 0.55; the ACT uses the NSW and ACT row. Checked 2026-10-07. The US average uses US EPA eGRID (2023 data) and the UK uses UK DESNZ greenhouse gas conversion factors 2026. These are grid averages: rooftop solar and GreenPower are not included, and a region without a verified factor, or a custom rate, shows no emissions figure.
Do SSDs cost less to run than hard drives?
Per drive, usually, but by how much depends on the drive and on whether your NAS lets an SSD use its low power state. The Seagate IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006) data sheet lists 3.96 W idle. The Samsung 870 EVO 4TB data sheet lists 0.035 W idle only with SATA link power management (DIPM) on, and 2.5 W writing. The HDD vs SSD Running Cost calculator compares the two with drive prices.

Planning a new NAS? See NTK's Build Plans, or ask for a Review My Build.