This calculator compares the total cost of a purpose-built NAS with running an old or spare PC as a NAS, over 1 to 10 years: hardware, any extra hardware the PC needs, software and electricity. The NAS uses its maker's two published power states and the hours its drives sleep; the PC uses NTK's planning watts for its CPU generation, or your own measurement.
An old PC costs nothing to buy if you already own it, but it usually draws more power than a NAS, so the answer depends on how many years you count and your electricity rate. Is your old PC good enough? Check its watts against the table further down, then see what it costs to run here.
Enter your setup above to see the cost comparison.
| NAS | PC | |
|---|---|---|
| Hardware (upfront) | ||
| Extra hardware | ||
| Software | included with the NAS | |
| Electricity () | ||
| Total |
This compares cost only. Drive bays, hot swap, noise, size, support and the time you spend building and maintaining a DIY NAS are yours to weigh.
Synology DS425+ against "Old desktop, Intel 7th to 8th gen" (NTK planning figures 35 W idle, 95 W load), the PC at load 25% of the day. The two sides are not measured the same way: the NAS figures are the maker's own states with its drives fitted, the PC figures are NTK planning assumptions without drives.
What each side costs to run, and whether the NAS pays for itself, depends on your electricity rate and the NAS price (NTK market price for the DS425+: $899, 2026-10-23), so the calculator works it out: open this example in the calculator, or with 8 hours of drive sleep, then pick your state or enter your rate.
Two things decide it: whether it can do the job, and what it costs to keep running. For the running cost, start from its idle watts. The table below is NTK's planning figure for each generation of PC, for the CPU and chassis without drives. Your PC can be well above or below it, so measure it at the wall with a plug-in power meter and enter that figure in the calculator.
| PC | Idle W | Load W | Idle all day, energy a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Old desktop, Intel Core 2 era | 75 | 95* | 657 kWh |
| Old desktop, Intel 3rd to 4th gen | 55 | 95* | 481.8 kWh |
| Old desktop, Intel 5th to 6th gen | 42 | 95* | 367.9 kWh |
| Old desktop, Intel 7th to 8th gen | 35 | 95* | 306.6 kWh |
| Desktop, Intel 10th to 12th gen | 28 | 95* | 245.3 kWh |
| Desktop, Intel 13th gen or newer | 22 | 95* | 192.7 kWh |
| Old desktop, AMD Ryzen 1000/2000 | 55 | 110 | 481.8 kWh |
| Mini PC, Intel N100 | 8 | 20 | 70.1 kWh |
| Mini PC, Intel i5 12th gen | 12 | 35 | 105.1 kWh |
| Old workstation, Xeon or i7 | 80 | 180 | 700.8 kWh |
NTK planning assumptions, not measurements: measure your own PC at the wall with a plug-in power meter. CPU and chassis only: drives are not included (add the drives' own watts, or measure the whole PC with its drives). * No load figure exists for these desktops, so NTK carries its desktop load figure of 95 W as an editable planning assumption. For what a PC costs to run at your rate, enter it in the calculator above.
NAS energy. The maker's two states: (busy watts x the hours the drives are awake + drives asleep watts x the hours they sleep) x 365 days, divided by 1,000. With 0 hours of sleep the NAS is counted at its busy figure all day. Makers measure that figure during file transfers or typical operation, and Synology says its figures are not meant to be minimum or maximum power consumption figures (Synology, checked 2026-10-14), so a NAS that is idle most of the day will usually use less. A figure you measured at the wall is better: choose Custom NAS and enter it as the busy watts.
PC energy. (load watts x the hours at load + idle watts x the other hours) x 365 days, divided by 1,000, with your drives' watts added to both.
Cost = annual kWh x your rate. Total = hardware + extra hardware + software + electricity over the period. Break-even = the NAS's extra upfront cost divided by the yearly running cost it saves, with four cases: the NAS pays back after N years, it is ahead from day one, the PC catches up after N years, or it never pays back. A year is 8,760 hours.
| NAS | Busy | Drives asleep | Maker's conditions | Market price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Synology DS225+ | 16.98 W Access | 6.08 W HDD Hibernation | Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre). | Synology, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| Synology DS425+ | 28.25 W Access | 6.1 W HDD Hibernation | Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre). | Synology, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| Synology DS925+ | 37.91 W Access | 12.33 W HDD Hibernation | Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre). | Synology, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| Synology DS1823xs+ | 87.93 W Access | 28.37 W HDD Hibernation | Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre). | Synology, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| Synology DS223j | 16.31 W Access | 4.0 W HDD Hibernation | Synology: every 3.5 inch capable model is tested fully loaded with Synology HAT5300-12T drives in SHR (else RAID 5); 'Access' is measured during continuous 30 MB file transfers over SMB, 'HDD Hibernation' with all drives in low power mode (Synology knowledge centre). | Synology, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| QNAP TS-464 | 40.536 W Operating Mode, Typical | 21.618 W Disk Standby Mode | QNAP: 'Tested with drives fully populated.' (drive model and workload not stated on the page). | QNAP, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| QNAP TS-264 | 29.086 W Operating Mode, Typical | 18.288 W Disk Standby Mode | QNAP: 'Tested with drives fully populated.' (drive model and workload not stated on the page). | QNAP, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| QNAP TS-433 | 22.54 W Operating Mode, Typical | 8.45 W Disk Standby Mode | QNAP: 'Tested with drives fully populated.' (drive model and workload not stated on the page). | QNAP, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| QNAP TVS-H874 | 96.247 W Operating Mode, Typical | 72.331 W Disk Standby Mode | QNAP: 'Tested fully populated with WD10EFRX hard drives.' (workload not stated on the page). | QNAP, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| UGREEN DXP2800 | 16.38 W drive access | 5.24 W drive hibernation | UGREEN: conditions not stated on the product page (drive count, drive model and workload unknown). | UGREEN, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| UGREEN DH4300 Plus | 22.89 W drive access | 7.23 W drive hibernation | UGREEN: conditions not stated on the product page (drive count, drive model and workload unknown). | UGREEN, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| TerraMaster F4-424 Pro | 33.0 W read/write state | 13.0 W hibernation | TerraMaster: fully loaded with Seagate 4TB ST4000VN008 drives, read/write state and hibernation. | TerraMaster, checked 2026-10-07 | |
| ASUSTOR AS5402T | 22.9 W Operation | 12.7 W Disk Hibernation | ASUSTOR: conditions not stated on the spec page. | ASUSTOR, checked 2026-10-07 |
Market prices are NTK's median across at least three Australian retailers with fresh listings, 2026-10-23. A model without one needs your price.
| State | Rate (c/kWh) | What it is | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSW | 33.96 | Australian Energy Regulator: default market offer (DMO), price cap on standing offers. AER DMO 8 Final Determination 26 May 2026, Section 9(1), avg of 3 NSW zones | September 2026 |
| VIC | 28.2 | Essential Services Commission: Victorian Default Offer (VDO). ESC Victorian Default Offer 2026-27 domestic flat tariff, avg of 5 distribution zones | September 2026 |
| QLD | 27.97 | Australian Energy Regulator: default market offer (DMO), South East Queensland only. AER DMO 8 Final Determination 26 May 2026, Section 9(1), Energex flat rate (SE Queensland) | September 2026 |
| SA | 41.91 | Australian Energy Regulator: default market offer (DMO), price cap on standing offers. AER DMO 8 Final Determination 26 May 2026, Section 9(1) SA Power Networks flat rate | September 2026 |
| WA | 33.26 | WA State Government (Energy Policy WA): regulated tariff (Synergy, set in the State Budget). Synergy Home Plan (A1) from 1 Jul 2026 (WA Government-set tariff) | September 2026 |
| TAS | 24.75 | Office of the Tasmanian Economic Regulator: regulated standing offer (Aurora Energy, maximum price). Aurora Energy Tariff 32 Residential Single Rate from 1 Jul 2026 (OTTER-approved standing offer) | September 2026 |
| ACT | 36.95 | Independent Competition and Regulatory Commission: regulated standing offer (ActewAGL Retail). ActewAGL ACT Standard plan from 1 Jul 2026 (ICRC standing offer), Home all usage | September 2026 |
| NT | 31.68 | NT Government Electricity Pricing Order (enforced by the Utilities Commission): regulated retail price (Electricity Pricing Order). Jacana Energy regulated residential tariff from 1 Jul 2026 | September 2026 |
Enter the rate from your bill for your own figure; on a time of use plan, use your average (blended) rate.
Method last reviewed: 2026-10-14. NAS power and software facts last checked at source: 2026-10-07. Market prices: 2026-10-23. Electricity rates dated from: 2026-09-25.
NBN upload speeds affect your NAS remote access capability regardless of hardware. See our NBN Remote Access Reality Checker for AU-specific limits. Your first step for a faulty product is usually the retailer that sold it. The ACCC explains your rights under the Australian Consumer Law at accc.gov.au.
Ask us anything about NAS, storage, or infrastructure. We reply by email.
Message sent!
We'll be in touch soon.