Independent Australian Storage & Infrastructure Authority

Home › Tools › Can My NAS Run AI?

Can My NAS Run AI?

This checker tells you whether a NAS can run a local AI job: a language model in Ollama, Immich machine learning, Synology Photos face and object recognition, PhotoPrism or Whisper speech to text. It compares the NAS's memory and processor cores with each app's published requirements and says what fits, what needs an upgrade, and why.

Pick your NAS (current models and ones no longer sold new), the memory installed, and the job. Speed is not estimated: no primary benchmark of these jobs on NAS processors exists.

1. Your hardware

Filled with the memory it ships with. Change it if you have upgraded.

2. The job

2 GB is an NTK planning default for the NAS system and its other apps.

Result

Cannot calculate

Why

What changes the answer

If this NAS is a poor fit

Which NAS Can Run Which AI Job?

Each NAS at the memory it ships with. Language model columns use Ollama's download size, Ollama's default context of 4096 tokens, one request, NTK's 15% context allowance and 2 GB kept free for the NAS. Immich, Synology Photos and Whisper use their makers' published requirements.

NASProcessorMemoryllama3.2:3bllama3.1:8bImmichSynology PhotosWhisper largeSource
ASUSTOR AS5402T
Current
Intel Celeron N5105 (4 cores)4 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Needs a memory upgrade (7.7 GB)Needs a memory upgradeSynology onlyNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-08-10
ASUSTOR AS6702T
Current
Intel Celeron N5105 (4 cores)4 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Needs a memory upgrade (7.7 GB)Needs a memory upgradeSynology onlyNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-08-11
ASUSTOR AS6704T
Current
Intel Celeron N5105 (4 cores)4 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Needs a memory upgrade (7.7 GB)Needs a memory upgradeSynology onlyNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-08-11
QNAP TS-264
Current
Intel Celeron N5095 (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-08-10
Maker, 2026-08-10
QNAP TS-433
Current
ARM Cortex-A55 2.0GHz processor (4 cores)4 GB as shipped, up to 4 GBDoes not fitDoes not fitOnly with machine learning offSynology onlyDoes not fitMaker, 2026-08-10
Maker, 2026-10-01
QNAP TS-464
Current
Intel Celeron N5095 (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-10-01
QNAP TS-664
Current
Intel Celeron N5095 (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-08-10
Maker, 2026-10-01
QNAP TVS-H874
Current
Not statedAs shipped: not stated, up to 64 GBMemory as shipped not statedMemory as shipped not statedMemory as shipped not statedSynology onlyMemory as shipped not statedMaker, 2026-08-11
Synology DS1525+
Current
AMD Ryzen V1500B (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedFaces and objectsFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Synology DS1823xs+
Current
AMD Ryzen V1780B (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedFaces and objectsFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Synology DS1825+
Current
AMD Ryzen V1500B (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedFaces and objectsFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Synology DS225+
Current
Intel Celeron J4125 (4 cores)2 GB as shipped, up to 6 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Does not fitNeeds a memory upgradeFaces; objects need 4 GBNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-09-14
Maker, 2026-10-01
Synology DS3622xs+
Current
Intel Xeon D-1531 (6 cores)16 GB as shipped, up to 48 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedFaces and objectsFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Synology DS425+
Current
Intel Celeron J4125 (4 cores)2 GB as shipped, up to 6 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Does not fitNeeds a memory upgradeFaces; objects need 4 GBNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-10-12
Maker, 2026-10-01
Synology DS925+
Current
AMD Ryzen V1500B (4 cores)4 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Needs a memory upgrade (7.7 GB)Needs a memory upgradeFaces and objectsNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-09-30
Maker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-10-01
TerraMaster F4-424 Pro
Current
Intel Core i3-N305 (8 cores)32 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-08-12
TerraMaster F4-425 Pro
Current
N305 (8 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-14
Maker, 2026-09-14
UGREEN DH4300 Plus
Current
Rockchip RK3588 (8 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 8 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Maker, 2026-08-12
UGREEN DXP2800
Current
Intel N100 (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 16 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-08-10
UGREEN DXP2800 GT
Current
AMD R2514 (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 64 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-09-30
UGREEN DXP4800 GT
Current
AMD Ryzen Embedded R2514 (4 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 64 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Maker, 2026-09-30
UGREEN DXP4800 Plus
Current
Intel Pentium Gold 8505 (5 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 64 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-08-12
UGREEN DXP4800 Pro
Current
Intel Core i3-1315U (6 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 96 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-10-01
UGREEN DXP480T Plus
Current
Intel Core i5-1235U (10 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 64 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-08-11
UGREEN DXP6800 Pro
Current
Intel Core i5-1235U (10 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 64 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-10-01
Maker, 2026-08-12
UGREEN DXP8800 Plus
Current
Intel Core i5-1235U (10 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 64 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-25
Maker, 2026-09-30
UGREEN iDX6011
Current
Intel Core Ultra 5 125H (14 cores)32 GB as shipped, maximum not publishedFits as shippedFits as shippedSynology onlyFits as shippedMaker, 2026-09-30
Maker, 2026-10-01
Synology DS1522+
No longer sold new
AMD Ryzen R1600 (2 cores)8 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBFits as shippedFits as shippedMeets minimumFaces and objectsFits as shippedMaker, 2026-10-02
Synology DS224+
No longer sold new
Intel Celeron J4125 (4 cores)2 GB as shipped, up to 6 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Does not fitNeeds a memory upgradeFaces; objects need 4 GBNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-10-02
Maker, 2026-10-12
Synology DS423+
No longer sold new
Intel Celeron J4125 (4 cores)2 GB as shipped, up to 6 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Does not fitNeeds a memory upgradeFaces; objects need 4 GBNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-09-30
Synology DS723+
No longer sold new
AMD Ryzen R1600 (2 cores)2 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Needs a memory upgrade (7.7 GB)Needs a memory upgradeFaces; objects need 4 GBNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-10-12
Synology DS923+
No longer sold new
AMD Ryzen R1600 (2 cores)4 GB as shipped, up to 32 GBNeeds a memory upgrade (4.3 GB)Needs a memory upgrade (7.7 GB)Needs a memory upgradeFaces and objectsNeeds a memory upgradeMaker, 2026-10-02

"Needs a memory upgrade" means the job fits within the maker's maximum memory but not in what the NAS ships with. Synology Photos is built into DSM, so it applies to Synology NAS only. No column is a speed estimate.

How the Checker Works

Language models. Ollama publishes each model's download size at a stated quantisation; the whole model has to sit in memory. Ollama's FAQ says it uses a context window of 4,096 tokens by default. (Ollama) Ollama's documentation says a larger context length increases the memory needed to run a model, and that tasks needing a large context, such as agents and coding tools, should be set to at least 64,000 tokens. (Ollama) Ollama's FAQ says parallel requests to one model multiply its context size, and the memory needed scales with the number of parallel requests times the context length. (Ollama) Ollama publishes no per model figure for that, so NTK adds 15% of the model size for every 4,096 tokens held in memory, and keeps 2 GB free for the NAS. Both are NTK planning figures; the AI Hardware Requirements Calculator lets you change them or enter what ollama ps shows.

Apps. Immich's requirements are a minimum of 6 GB of RAM (8 GB recommended) and a minimum of 2 CPU cores (4 recommended); with only 4 GB of RAM it can run with machine learning turned off. (Immich) Immich runs on amd64 and arm64 processors; since version 3 its machine learning container on amd64 needs the x86-64-v2 microarchitecture level or newer, and Immich needs Docker with the Docker Compose plugin. (Immich) Immich documents GPU acceleration for its machine learning through ARM NN (Mali), CUDA (NVIDIA), ROCm (AMD), OpenVINO (Intel GPUs such as Iris Xe and Arc) and RKNN (Rockchip), and calls the feature experimental. (Immich) PhotoPrism asks for at least 2 CPU cores and 3 GB of memory, with the amount of RAM matching the number of CPU cores, and at least 4 GB of swap. (PhotoPrism) The whisper.cpp README gives the memory each Whisper model uses: tiny about 273 MB, base about 388 MB, small about 852 MB, medium about 2.1 GB and large about 3.9 GB. (whisper.cpp (ggml-org)) Synology lists the NAS models whose Synology Photos supports face and object recognition. (Synology) For models that ship with 2 GB of memory, Synology says to upgrade to at least 4 GB to get object recognition. (Synology)

Processors, GPUs and NPUs. Ollama's hardware page lists NVIDIA GPUs (compute capability 5.0 and newer), AMD GPUs through ROCm, Apple GPUs through Metal, and further GPUs on Windows and Linux through Vulkan, which on most Linux distributions needs extra components installed. It does not list NPUs. (Ollama) NTK found no NAS maker documenting Ollama GPU acceleration on its NAS, so the checker treats Ollama on a NAS as running on the processor and gives no speed figure. A dedicated computer with a GPU on Ollama's list is the other route when AI is the main job; the NAS then keeps storing the files.

Remote access. Using a home AI from outside depends on your NBN connection, mainly upload speed and CGNAT. The NBN Remote Access Checker and the NBN Plan Finder cover both.

Buying. Your first step for a faulty product is usually the retailer that sold it. The ACCC explains your rights under the Australian Consumer Law at accc.gov.au.

Assumptions NTK made

Method last reviewed: 2026-10-14. Model sizes and app requirements last checked at the source: 2026-10-18. NAS specifications: each maker's page, date in the table.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can my NAS run Ollama?
If the model fits in the memory the NAS has free. Ollama publishes each model's size: qwen3.5:4b is 3.3 GB and llama3.1:8b is 4.9 GB. With NTK's planning allowance for Ollama's default context and 2 GB kept free for the NAS, qwen3.5:4b needs about 5.8 GB and llama3.1:8b about 7.7 GB. A QNAP TS-464 ships with 8 GB, so both fit. On a NAS, Ollama runs on the CPU, and NTK gives no speed figure.
How fast will a local model run on my NAS?
NTK gives no tokens per second figure: no primary benchmark of Ollama on these NAS processors exists, and speed depends on the processor, memory speed, model, context and what else the NAS is doing. Try a small model first and time a reply. Ollama's FAQ says the ollama ps command shows the models loaded into memory with their size, and 100% CPU means the model was loaded entirely into system memory.
Can my NAS run Immich machine learning?
Immich's requirements are a minimum of 6 GB of RAM (8 GB recommended) and a minimum of 2 CPU cores (4 recommended); with only 4 GB of RAM it can run with machine learning turned off. Of the 32 NAS models in the checker, 20 meet at least the minimum as shipped; the table shows which need a memory upgrade first.
Which Synology NAS support face and object recognition in Synology Photos?
Synology lists face and object recognition in Synology Photos for the RS2825RP+, DS1825+, DS1825neo+, DS1525+, DS1525neo+, DS925+, DS925neo+, DS725+, DS725neo+, DS425+ and DS225+; for the DS425+ and DS225+ it says object recognition needs at least 4 GB of memory. For models that ship with 2 GB of memory, Synology says to upgrade to at least 4 GB to get object recognition. It is built into DSM, so it applies to Synology NAS only.
What does PhotoPrism need?
PhotoPrism asks for at least 2 CPU cores and 3 GB of memory, with the amount of RAM matching the number of CPU cores, and at least 4 GB of swap.
How much memory does Whisper speech to text need?
The whisper.cpp README gives the memory each Whisper model uses: tiny about 273 MB, base about 388 MB, small about 852 MB, medium about 2.1 GB and large about 3.9 GB. The checker adds the 2 GB NTK keeps free for the NAS. NTK gives no transcription speed figure.
Does an NPU or integrated GPU help?
Ollama's hardware page lists NVIDIA GPUs (compute capability 5.0 and newer), AMD GPUs through ROCm, Apple GPUs through Metal, and further GPUs on Windows and Linux through Vulkan, which on most Linux distributions needs extra components installed. It does not list NPUs. NTK found no NAS maker documenting Ollama GPU acceleration on its NAS, so the checker treats Ollama on a NAS as CPU only. Immich documents GPU acceleration for its machine learning through ARM NN (Mali), CUDA (NVIDIA), ROCm (AMD), OpenVINO (Intel GPUs such as Iris Xe and Arc) and RKNN (Rockchip), and calls the feature experimental.
Should I use a mini PC instead of my NAS for AI?
If AI is the main job, a separate computer with a GPU that Ollama supports is the other route, and the NAS keeps storing the files; Ollama's hardware page lists the GPUs it supports. A NAS suits smaller models and background jobs such as photo tagging. NTK has no benchmark to say how much faster a given computer would be.
Can I use my local AI from outside home?
That depends on your NBN connection, mainly its upload speed and whether your provider puts you behind CGNAT, not on the NAS. The NBN Remote Access Checker and the NBN Plan Finder cover both.
Which NAS models does the checker include?
32 NAS models from Synology, QNAP, UGREEN, ASUSTOR and TerraMaster: 27 current and 5 no longer sold new, kept because people still own them. Processor, cores and memory come from each maker's specifications as recorded in NTK's NAS specification database, with the source linked in the table. Pick Other hardware for anything else.