UGREEN HomeAgent explained: What Australians need to know
UGREEN has announced a smart home ecosystem built around a local hub. Here is what the system is made of, what UGREEN claims it does, and where an Australian buyer actually stands today: not on sale here, no AUD price, and one security disclosure still unanswered.
UGREEN HomeAgent is an announced smart-home ecosystem built around a local hub that is intended to combine home automation, AI processing, security-camera management and personal storage.
That is the proposition. It is not yet a finding.
NTKIT has not tested the hardware, software, cameras, voice assistant or integrations. The products are being introduced through crowdfunding, and UGREEN says final features, specifications, packaging and fulfilment timing may change. This explainer therefore separates the system UGREEN has described from what Australian buyers can verify today.
The central question is not simply whether local AI sounds useful. It is whether HomeAgent will support your actual devices and workloads, remain functional without cloud services, receive security updates for an adequate period and be sold with appropriate Australian support.
Who is HomeAgent meant for?
HomeAgent is aimed at households that want several connected-home functions coordinated by one local system. According to UGREEN, that includes automation, voice interaction, camera-event analysis, media storage and access to family photos and videos.
It may be relevant if you want:
- security footage and personal files stored at home;
- AI processing that can run on hardware inside the home;
- cameras, speakers and display devices managed as parts of one system;
- natural-language control and searches across supported devices and stored content; or
- storage and smart-home functions in the same appliance.
It is not yet a sensible commitment for someone who needs a proven Australian retail product, a verified compatibility list, established support arrangements or independent reliability results. Existing smart-home owners should also wait for a precise protocol and device-support matrix before assuming their current equipment will work.
What makes up the HomeAgent ecosystem?
UGREEN has announced three groups of products: the central computing hubs, connected devices and user interfaces. The range is provisional rather than a guaranteed final catalogue.
| Announced products | Intended role, according to UGREEN | |
|---|---|---|
| AI and storage hubs | HomeAgent HA100, HomeAgent HA100 Pro and MasterAgent MA100 | Local storage, AI processing and coordination of supported smart-home devices |
| SynCare cameras | ID500 Pro indoor camera, OD600 Pro PoE camera and OD800 Pro battery camera | Video capture, alerts and AI-assisted event analysis |
| Interfaces | Smart Speaker for Uliya, Gallery E-Paper Smart Frame and Gallery LCD Smart Frame | Voice access, home control and presentation of photos or other information |
UGREEN describes the MasterAgent MA100 as NVIDIA-powered and positions it above the two HA100 models for more demanding local AI workloads. That does not establish which model an ordinary household needs. Until UGREEN publishes a stable feature matrix, buyers cannot reliably map the three hubs to particular household sizes, camera counts or AI workloads.
The cameras and interfaces are being presented as optional additions rather than components included with every hub. UGREEN repeatedly notes that certain advertised camera and interface features require HomeAgent, but the campaign material does not provide a sufficiently precise dependency table. A buyer should not assume that every camera function works without a hub, or that every function works with every hub model.
The hub is the organising layer
The hub is what turns this from a collection of accessories into an ecosystem. UGREEN says HomeAgent combines local storage, computing and control, connecting its cameras, speakers and frames alongside compatible third-party devices.
In practical terms, the announced architecture places the hub between several workloads:
1. Devices capture events or accept commands. 2. The hub stores supported data and runs supported AI models. 3. Uliya provides a natural-language interface to compatible functions and content. 4. Apps, speakers or frames provide ways to control the system or receive its output.
That architecture could reduce the number of separate cloud platforms involved in a home, but only if the final products support the devices and functions a household actually uses. NTKIT has not verified setup behaviour, processing speed, storage protection, failover, remote access or operation during an internet outage.
This is also where workload matters. Camera recording is a continuous storage task. Family-file backup is a data-protection task. Voice control and event recognition are computing tasks. Putting them in one device may be convenient, but it also concentrates several household functions in one system. Buyers will eventually need evidence about capacity planning, backup options, recovery procedures and what happens when the hub is unavailable.
What does local AI mean here?
In this context, local AI means that at least some models and processing are intended to run on HomeAgent hardware rather than sending every task to a remote service.
UGREEN says supported footage, memories and home data can remain on the device, with local recording and understanding continuing when the internet is unavailable. It also advertises local event recognition, summaries, keyword searches and automation. These are manufacturer claims, not NTKIT test results. The final division between local and cloud processing has not been independently established.
The distinction matters because local storage and local inference are separate questions. A system might store video locally while still using a cloud model for a particular request. It might also need online services for remote access, account authentication, updates or advanced AI functions.
UGREEN's campaign page makes that boundary visible in one important respect: it says Uliya uses Qwen3 as part of its local large-language-model approach while also supporting cloud models such as ChatGPT. UGREEN says users can switch between local and cloud modes. It also says the final supported models, file formats and rollout schedules will be confirmed at launch. The official crowdfunding page is therefore evidence of the intended design, not proof that every demonstrated function will be available at delivery.
UGREEN also says locally stored footage, photos and home data will not attract recurring cloud-storage fees or subscriptions. That is narrower than a promise that every HomeAgent feature will always be subscription-free. NTKIT has not found a final service plan establishing whether cloud AI, remote access or any other optional function will require payment.
What is Uliya?
Uliya is the announced natural-language interface for HomeAgent. UGREEN presents it as a way to issue home-control commands, ask about camera events and find supported photos or memories without navigating separate applications.
The Smart Speaker for Uliya is one way to reach that interface around the home. UGREEN also indicates that users may interact through HomeAgent and certain cameras. The product name should not be confused with an independent voice assistant platform whose compatibility is already established. Its practical value will depend on recognition accuracy, response time, privacy controls, supported languages, device compatibility and how much processing genuinely remains local. NTKIT has tested none of those points.
What are the Gallery frames for?
The Gallery E-Paper Smart Frame and Gallery LCD Smart Frame are display endpoints within the proposed ecosystem. UGREEN says HomeAgent can bring together camera recordings and a local photo library, create supported highlight content and send photos or art to Gallery devices.
That makes the frames more than isolated digital photo frames in UGREEN's system design. They are intended to present content held or processed by the hub. However, the final Gallery feature set, file compatibility and hub requirements remain unconfirmed. Buyers should not infer that either frame can display every common media format or work independently in the same way as it does when connected to HomeAgent.
Which smart-home protocols are supported?
UGREEN says HomeAgent will connect compatible third-party devices through open protocols. Its current campaign material does not provide a definitive, launch-specific list of named protocols and certified third-party products.
That gap is important. General support for open protocols does not prove that a particular lock, light, sensor, camera or controller will work, nor that all of its functions will be exposed. Existing smart-home owners should wait for UGREEN's final compatibility list instead of buying on the strength of a broad interoperability statement.
Australian availability and crowdfunding costs
HomeAgent has been announced, but it is not yet sold through UGREEN's Australian store and it has no confirmed AUD price.
The UGREEN Australian store prices products in Australian dollars but, when checked for this brief, carried no HomeAgent, MasterAgent, SynCare, Uliya or Gallery listings. Do not mistake nearby NASync product prices for HomeAgent prices.
UGREEN is instead taking deposits through a US-region crowdfunding page. The latest version of its campaign FAQ names Australia as a supported shipping destination, subject to final confirmation after the campaign and carrier coverage. That creates a possible crowdfunding route for Australian backers, but it is not the same as an Australian retail launch. It provides no confirmed local release date, AUD price or Australia-specific support arrangement.
The campaign is described as coming to Kickstarter in October. UGREEN says a deposit is not a purchase: the backer must later select a reward and complete a Kickstarter pledge. The published US campaign tiers are shown below in USD. They must not be converted and presented as Australian prices.
| Super Early Bird | Early Bird | Stated MSRP | |
|---|---|---|---|
| HomeAgent HA100 | USD $899 | USD $1,079 | USD $1,799 |
| HomeAgent HA100 Pro | Not confirmed for this draft | Not confirmed for this draft | Not confirmed for this draft |
| MasterAgent MA100 | USD $9,999 | USD $11,999 | USD $19,999 |
| SynCare OD800 Pro | USD $199 | Not stated | USD $339 |
| SynCare OD600 Pro | USD $159 | Not stated | USD $269 |
| SynCare ID500 Pro | USD $89 | Not stated | USD $149 |
| Gallery E-Paper Smart Frame | USD $299 | Not stated | USD $439 |
| Smart Speaker for Uliya | USD $69 | Not stated | USD $99 |
UGREEN says a USD $50 deposit provides access to Super Early Bird links for the HA100 range, while the final reward selection and pledge occur on Kickstarter. A USD $200 deposit covers the MasterAgent MA100, which UGREEN says is a special-edition model available only to customers who make that deposit. Crowdfunding tiers are not retail prices, and estimated delivery, specifications and fulfilment can change. Australian buyers should also obtain clear answers about warranty handling, returns, taxes, shipping exclusions and local support before pledging.
The Australian security question UGREEN still needs to answer
Australia's Cyber Security (Security Standards for Smart Devices) Rules 2025 apply to in-scope consumer smart devices manufactured on and from 4 March 2026. The Department of Home Affairs says the requirements cover matters including passwords, vulnerability reporting and publication of a defined security-update support period with an end date. In-scope products must also be accompanied by a statement of compliance.
Pre-release campaign material does not establish whether a particular HomeAgent unit will fall within the rules. Scope depends on matters including the product, intended use and date of manufacture. NTKIT therefore makes no claim that HomeAgent is compliant or non-compliant.
The useful buying question is simpler: What security-update support period, including its end date, will UGREEN publish for each HomeAgent device offered to Australian consumers?
NTKIT also intends to check whether relevant Australian-supplied hardware is accompanied by the required statement of compliance. Those answers should be available before an Australian consumer is asked to make a final purchase decision.
What NTKIT has and has not verified
NTKIT has verified that UGREEN has published the HomeAgent crowdfunding page, named the announced product families, displayed US-region crowdfunding tiers and described the deposit-to-Kickstarter process. We also checked UGREEN's Australian storefront and found no HomeAgent products or AUD pricing there. Australia's smart-device rules and their commencement date were checked against official government sources.
We have not handled or tested any HomeAgent product. We have not verified:
- real-world AI accuracy, latency or offline behaviour;
- camera image quality, detection reliability or storage performance;
- third-party device compatibility;
- the final protocol list or feature-to-hub dependency matrix;
- subscription requirements for every service;
- Australian retail availability, warranty handling or technical support;
- security-update duration or Australian regulatory compliance; or
- whether the announced range and specifications will remain unchanged.
What should an Australian buyer do now?
Treat HomeAgent as an ecosystem to watch, not as a completed Australian product line.
It is most relevant to households interested in combining smart-home control, surveillance storage and local AI, and willing to assess a crowdfunding project with provisional specifications. Before committing, map the system against a defined workload: number of cameras, retention needs, backup requirements, existing devices, internet-outage expectations and acceptable cloud dependence.
Do not choose it yet if you need confirmed local pricing, established Australian retail support, proven integrations or independent performance evidence. Wait for the final compatibility list, subscription terms, security-support end date and Australian compliance documentation.
HomeAgent's local-first design is the reason to pay attention. Whether it becomes a practical choice will depend on the details UGREEN has not yet finalised and on evidence that only shipping hardware and independent testing can provide. For the earlier announcement context, see NTKIT's HomeAgent HA100 launch coverage. For the wider landscape, return to the Smart Home hub.
This page sits inside NTKIT's smart home coverage. For the Australian rules that decide what a manufacturer must publish about security updates, see Australia's smart device security rules.
Frequently Asked Questions
UGREEN's campaign FAQ sets three shipping phases rather than one date. The HomeAgent HA100, SynCare PoE Cam OD600 Pro and SynCare Indoor Cam ID500 Pro are scheduled to begin shipping in late January 2027. The HA100 Pro, SynCare Battery Cam OD800 Pro, Gallery E-Paper Smart Frame and Smart Speaker for Uliya are scheduled for late April 2027. The MasterAgent MA100 and Gallery LCD Smart Frame are scheduled for late July 2027.
These are estimates attached to a crowdfunding campaign that has not started, and UGREEN says fulfilment begins only after the campaign ends. Six months separate the first phase from the last, so check which phase a product sits in before planning around it.
UGREEN footnotes many of the camera, speaker and smart frame features it advertises with a note that certain features require UGREEN HomeAgent, and it lists the SynCare cameras, the Gallery frames and the Smart Speaker for Uliya as optional add-ons rather than items included with a hub. Recording and local AI processing are both described as happening on the hub.
UGREEN has not published a feature-by-feature breakdown of what each device still does on its own. Until it does, treat the add-ons as hub-dependent and budget for a hub first.
UGREEN says footage, photos and home data stored locally carry no recurring fees or subscriptions. That is worth reading precisely: it is a statement about locally stored data, not a commitment that every feature will stay free.
The campaign page also describes cloud AI models such as ChatGPT as an option users can switch to, and those are separate services on their own terms. Account registration, remote access and mobile notifications are described as needing an internet connection. NTKIT has tested none of this.
UGREEN's launch press release says HomeAgent has Matter support, describing it as bringing compatible smart home devices together for unified local control. Matter is a smart home standard designed to let devices from different brands work together.
That claim currently rests on a single press statement. UGREEN's public crowdfunding page names no protocol at all, saying only that HomeAgent supports compatible third-party devices through open protocols, and UGREEN's product introduction document names none either. No compatibility list has been published, so a buyer cannot yet check whether a particular lock, light or sensor will work. Treat Matter support as a manufacturer claim rather than a verified capability.
Australia is listed as a supported shipping region in UGREEN's campaign FAQ, alongside Singapore, the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and most European Union countries. Australian External Territories are excluded, including Christmas Island, Norfolk Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
There is no Australian dollar price. The campaign prices every product in US dollars, and UGREEN's Australian store at ai-au.ugreen.com carried no HomeAgent product when NTKIT checked it on 6 September 2026. UGREEN says it will cover duties and customs fees for backers, which removes one usual import variable but leaves the exchange rate as yours to carry.
Three cameras have been announced: the Indoor Cam ID500 Pro, the PoE Cam OD600 Pro and the solar and battery powered Battery Cam OD800 Pro. PoE means Power over Ethernet, where a single cable carries both data and power. UGREEN presents all three as optional add-ons bought alongside a hub, with recording and AI recognition handled by HomeAgent rather than by a cloud service, and its Super Early Bird pricing applies to the hubs only, not to add-ons.
The camera side is where this ecosystem meets ground NTKIT already covers: local recording, storage sizing and wiring. Our surveillance storage calculator will size the storage a camera set needs once the specifications are confirmed.